On the BBC’s Sports Personality of the Year broadcast, Jurgen Klopp was named Coach of the Year and Liverpool Team of the Year.

Boss Klopp and his side were crowned champions of the 2019-20 Premier League – ending the 30-year wait for the club for a top-flight title.

It was the 19th top division title for Liverpool and they’re first since 1989-90.

Klopp’s Reds, winning by 18 points, created one of the most unforgettable campaigns in Premier League history.

Such was their supremacy, leading the table by 25 points at one level – a record difference between aside in the first and second in the top English flight.

They also registered the earliest title victory, with seven games still to play when the defeat of Manchester City by Chelsea sealed their triumph, and the most consecutive home wins, which was not the only English top-flight record they set – (24, with seven, carried over from the 2018-19 season).

Reds fans faced a tense wait to see how it will end after the advent of the coronavirus pandemic saw the Premier League suspended for three months, despite Liverpool’s dominance during the season.

But their return in June, although without supporters, helped them to cap their success, and they ended the season on 99 points with just three losses in their name, two of which came after the title had been sealed.

“My team deserves this because they did an incredible job,” Klopp said.

“It’s a combination of the club’s talent, character, ambition, and strength, which is a huge one. It all comes together, and when we became champions, it was a fantastic moment.

We want to organize a big party, if it’s allowed again, it may take a little while, but maybe we can win something else before then, we’ll see. We can’t wait to see the fans again and it’s even sweeter to win this award in Manchester.”

German Klopp, 53, arrived at Anfield in 2015 with Liverpool 10th in the Premier League but has led the club to four trophies in the five years since, including the 2018-19 Champions League trophy.

He was also named 2019-20 Premier League manager of the season and League Managers’ Association manager of the year after their Premier League performance.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here