Arsenal, Chelsea, Liverpool, Manchester City, Manchester United, and Tottenham are among the six teams that have agreed to join the European Super League. They will be joined by AC Milan, Atletico Madrid, Barcelona, Inter Milan, Juventus and Real Madrid. The tournament will begin as soon as it is practicable. There are dears of wide ramifications in spite of the fact that the European Super League is set to replace the UCL and not the domestic leagues.

The announcement of the European Super League led UEFA to blast the proposal in a joint statement with the Premier League, La Liga and Serie A. The UEFA announced that all the teams participating would be banned from any domestic or European competition. FIFA and the European Club Association (ECA) have also criticized the creation of a breakaway competition.

“Twelve of Europe’s leading football teams have today come together to announce they have agreed to establish a new mid-week competition, the Super League, governed by its Founding Clubs.” a European Super League statement read. “AC Milan, Arsenal FC, Atl├ętico de Madrid, Chelsea FC, FC Barcelona, FC Internazionale Milano, Juventus FC, Liverpool FC, Manchester City, Manchester United, Real Madrid CF and Tottenham Hotspur have all joined as Founding Clubs. It is anticipated that a further three clubs will join ahead of the inaugural season, which is intended to commence as soon as practicable.”

The competition will be financed by American investment bank JP Morgan they announced. Manchester United have left the European Club Association (ECA). It is the body recognized by the UEFA and the only one of its kind. This was followed by Ed Woodward stepping down from his UEFA roles. Other clubs to have left the ECA include Juventus, AC Milan and Inter Milan. Juventus chairman Andrea Agnelli has resigned from the post of chairman of the ECA too.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here