UEFA president Aleksander Ceferin has said that all the clubs involved in the European Super League will face the consequences for their actions. 12 clubs announced their intentions to create a European Super League. The clubs included Premier League clubs Arsenal, Chelsea, Liverpool, Manchester City, Manchester United, and Tottenham Hotspurs, La Liga clubs Atletico Madrid, Barcelona, and Real Madrid and Serie clubs AC Milan, Inter Milan, and Juventus.

The board members from these clubs stepped down from their rules in the European Club Association (ECA), governed by UEFA. The competition received backlash from all corners of the globe including Prime Minster Boris Johnson. Following the backlash, the Big Six from the Premier League withdrew from the European Super League. The European Super League was created with the hope that it would replace the UEFA Champions League, Atletico Madrid and the two Milan clubs followed suit while the remaining three clubs still believe in the competition.

“Let’s see. Everyone has to take consequences for what they did and we cannot pretend nothing happened,” Ceferin said. “You cannot do something like that and just say ‘I’ve been punished because everybody hates me’. They don’t have problems because of anyone else but themselves. It’s not OK what they did and we will see in the next few days what we have to do.”

“But for me, it’s a clear difference between the English clubs and the other six. They pulled out first, they admitted they made a mistake. You have to have some greatness to say ‘I was wrong’.” he added. “For me, there are three groups of this 12 – the English six, who went out first, then the other three [Atletico Madrid, AC Milan, Inter] after them and then the ones who feel that Earth is flat and they think the Super League still exists. And there is a big difference between those. But everyone will be held responsible. In what way, we will see.”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here