Bayern reached the net as early as the 18th minute. Joshua Kimmich scored from outside the penalty area with a slanted shot. The referee did not accept the goal after a VAR review, suspecting that Robert Lewandowski was offside and interfering with the interference of the goalkeeper. In the following minutes, Bayern accelerated a few more times, but for Tigres, it ended in terror. It was the Mexican team that accelerated in the middle of the first half and threatened to charge for a few minutes near Bayern’s penalty area. It ended, however, with one readily defensible blow.

Leroy Sane, who ran into the penalty area and banged in a left-footed shot just wide of the post and crossbar, intimidated the Tigres defense in the 34th minute.

Serge Gnabry tried to challenge the Tigres goal in the 51st minute, but he shot just over the crossbar. Seven minutes later, for the second time in this game, the ball dropped into the net. The throw-in was sent to Lewandowski’s head, who had been blocked by the outgoing goalkeeper, and Benjamin Pavard headed the ball into the abandoned net. The referee scored after additional VAR analysis.

It was 1:0, and the Tigers struck. The Mexican players twice requested a penalty for what the Bayern players considered a handball. Not once did the referee attempt to call a foul.

In the 72nd minute, David Alaba attempted to make his presence known. It appeared as though Bayern tried to put a better outcome to the end of the match in the minutes that followed. Lewandowski was forced off the pitch with a quarter of an hour to go, denying him the opportunity to challenge Andre-Pierre Gignac for the top goalscorer’s title.

Corentin Tolisso hit rather threateningly from a distance in the 81st minute, but Nahuel Guzman parried the ball to the post.

In 12 months, Bayern has won their sixth trophy. They were world champions after winning the German championship, the Champions League, the German Cup, the German Super Cup, and the European Super Cup. In doing so, in 2009, the Bavarians equaled the remarkable achievement of FC Barcelona’s Pep Guardiola.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here