Liverpool’s Jurgen Klopp has been named the League Managers Association (LMA) Manager of the year.

Klopp oversaw a stunning campaign for the Reds, leading them to a 99-point total club record claiming their first top-flight title of 30 years.

They lost only three games all season in the Premier League and finished off second-placed Manchester City with a whopping 18-point clear.

Presented with the Sir Alex Ferguson Trophy, named after the legendary ex-Manchester United boss, Klopp said: “I’m utterly delighted to be called the winner of this wonderful Sir Alex Ferguson Trophy, called after a man I love so much. Winning this award feels particularly good, as my fellow managers vote in favor. It is a pleasure to be in the company of so many managers previously named as LMA Manager of the Year, including Liverpool managers like Bill Shankly, Bob Paisley, Joe Fagan, Kenny Dalglish, and Brendan Rodgers in recent years. Without the excellent feedback from my coaching staff, what we’ve achieved this year at Liverpool couldn’t have been done; they ‘re making us a very good bunch of football brains. I enjoy working with my coaches, my players, and everyone at Liverpool, and, of course, I’m grateful for the support from all of our wonderful fans in Liverpool.”

Meanwhile, Leeds United’s Marcelo Bielsa has been named Championship Manager of the Year after guiding the Yorkshire giants to the title and returning to the Premier League after an absence of 16 years.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here