Jose Mourinho will not comment on the handball rule

sky_sports_5_720-1.jpg

skysports.com

After Tottenham’s win over Fulham, manager Jose Mourinho decided not to comment on the handball rule.

Spurs took the lead at Craven Cottage thanks to an own goal from Tosin Adarabioyo, but the hosts equalized soon after through Josh Maja.

However, replays showed the ball struck Mario Lemina’s hand during the build-up from a Davinson Sanchez clearance a few yards out, and VAR ruled the attempt out.

Scott Parker, the Fulham manager, challenged the law, claiming that his team did not achieve a clear advantage, but Mourinho responded: “My opinion is irrelevant; I don’t make decisions.

“The rule gives space to interpretation and you have to accept the interpretation of the official. Sometimes it goes for you, sometimes against you.”

“It has changed so much,” Parker said. We look back to the beginning of the season when the rules were somewhat different and fines were being handed out the week in and week out, and we were discussing how to change the art of defending and defending with your arms behind your back.

“I understand why the target was not granted, and I understand why that is the law. The law does not sit well with me. I’m not upset about it; the referee is following the rules. VAR allows you to look back to see if there is a definite benefit. We didn’t, I don’t believe.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

scroll to top