New handball rule where the main focus is on intentional hand

sky_sports3_720.jpg

skysports.com

Accidental handball that results in a colleague scoring a goal will no longer be considered an ooffense” according to the IFAB’s revised handball rules.

The only body that can amend the rules is the International Football Association Board, which has released a statement detailing the revised handball rules, which will take effect in July.

“Because the interpretation of handball cases has not always been consistent due to incorrect application of the Law,” the statement said, “the representatives confirmed that not every touch of a player’s hand/arm with the ball is an offense. It was reported that referees should continue to use their judgment in assessing the legitimacy of the hand/location arm’s about the player’s movement in that particular situation.

“Following this explanation, it is a handball office if a player:

  • touches the ball with their hand/arm when it has made their body unnaturally bigger. When the position of a player’s hand/arm is not a result of, or justifiable by, the player’s body movement for that particular case, the player is assumed to have made their body unnaturally bigger.

The player risks having their hand/arm hit by the ball, resulting in a penalty; or the player risks having their hand/arm hit by the ball, resulting in a penalty.

  • scores in the opponent’s goal: directly from their hand/arm, even if it was an accident, including the goalkeeper; or immediately after the ball has hit their hand/arm, even if it was an accident.

“Accidental handball that results in a goal or a goal-scoring opportunity for a teammate will no longer be considered an offense.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

scroll to top