Shaw on Hudson-Odoi’s hand: “Maguire said what the referees were told it was a penalty. The VAR threw us off”

eurosport_6_720.jpg

eurosport.com

Luke Shaw, a defender for Manchester United, has spoken out about the 0-0 first-half handball incident against Chelsea. After consulting with the VAR, chief referee Stuart Attwell agreed not to award a penalty to the Londoners after the ball struck midfielder Callum Hudson-hand.

“I’m not sure. At that point, I found a hand play. I’m not sure if it was Greenwood or Hudson-Odoi who did it. I just kept playing; I had no idea there was a VAR check in place. If they don’t believe it was a foul, I’m not sure why the game was stopped,” Shaw told the BBC.

“I also overheard the referee telling Maguire, ‘If I suggest it’s a penalty, it’ll cause a lot of discussion later.’ As a consequence, I do. I also overheard the referee telling Maguire, ‘If I suggest it’s a penalty, it’ll cause a lot of discussions later.’” As a consequence, I’m not sure what happened there.”

“The referees were told it was a penalty,” Maguire said.

“According to VAR, there was a penalty. I’m not sure, and I’m not sure what you’re talking about. We had the ball and were attacking, but VAR threw us off. If it hadn’t been a call, the referees might have simply let the game proceed. I won’t complain because I don’t believe either team did anything to win.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

scroll to top